Skip to main content
Menu Icon

Wisconsin Space Grant Consortium awards Carthage students and faculty $95K

April 26, 2020

The NASA Wisconsin Space Grant Consortium and related space sciences projects made twenty awards to Carthage students and faculty this year, totaling $95,000. The Consortium funds a wide variety of STEM programs across the state, including undergraduate and graduate education, as well as faculty and post-doctoral work. 

Awards are made to students to defray tuition costs, to support research initiatives, and to provide participation in statewide and national competitions and programs. Faculty awards support research, teaching, and capstone projects.

We are pleased to recognize the following Carthage recipients of the WSGC Undergraduate Scholarship:

  • Bennett Bartel ’21
  • Cassandra Bossong ’21
  • Felicity Daniels ’21
  • Olivia Lutterman ’21 
  • Taylor Peterson ’21

Carthage recipients of the WSGC Undergraduate Research Fellowship:

  • Zachary Scheunemann ’21
  • Garrett Shuldes ’22
  • Amy Sorg ’20

Alec Digirolamo ’21 was awarded a NASA Gateway Program Scholarship for his contributions to a Carthage NASA partnership to design and build prototype space technology in support of the Artemis mission. 

Liam Carls ’23, Jordan Ball ’23, and Felicity Daniels ’21 each received Second Stage Space Sciences summer awards to support their summer research in the Carthage SURE program

The Carthage RockSat team, led by Felicity Daniels ’21, received a $12,000 award to support participation costs in the Space Grant program, RockSat, which launches university experiments into space from the NASA Wallops Flight Facility in Virginia.  

With hundreds of applicants for every position, NASA Center internships are among the most competitive internships in the country. We’re pleased to report that five Carthage students have been selected for NASA internships this year, including:

  • Celestine Ananda ’20 (fall 2019, Kennedy Space Center)
  • Bennett Bartel ’21 (summer 2020, Langley Academy)
  • Nicholas Bartel ’20 (fall 2019, Kennedy Space Center)
  • Alec Digirolamo ’21 (summer 2020, Kennedy Space Center)
  • Taylor Peterson ’21 (summer 2020, Kennedy Space Center)

Finally, congratulations to Professor Dana Garrigan, who received funding to support course development within the Biology Department


Wisconsin Space Grant Consortium


Kevin Crosby 

Background Image of Earth