Skip to main content
Menu Icon

Congratulations to Wisconsin Space Grant Consortium award recipients

April 12, 2018

Physics major Alessandro Tocci ’20 has been awarded a $4,000 Undergraduate Research Fellowship by the Wisconsin Space Grant Consortium for the pursuit of his summer research project “The Study of Sprites.”

Tocci, of Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin, has also been invited to present his research at the 28th Annual Wisconsin Space Conference, set for Aug. 10 at the University of Wisconsin-Fox Valley in Menasha, Wisconsin.

He is one of four Carthage physics majors to recently receive 2017-2018 Undergraduate Research awards from the WSGC. The other recipients were each awarded a $2,000 scholarship for the pursuit of space-related studies taking place August 2018 through May 2019. They are:

  • Nicholas Bartel ’20, from New London, Wisconsin
  • Celestine Ananda ’20, from New London, Wisconsin
  • Austin Weber ’20, from Reeseville, Wisconsin

All three have also been invited to attend the Wisconsin Space Conference in August.

Recipients were chosen from a highly-competitive, statewide pool of applicants for these four awards, which are made available through a NASA Training Grant.

Headquartered at Carthage and directed by Prof. Kevin Crosby since 2014, the WSGC is a powerful network of space and aerospace professionals, researchers, students, educators and legislators that has statewide and national reach ( It is a member institution of the national network of Space Grant Consortia, funded by NASA’s National Space Grant College and Fellowship Program.

WSGC is dedicated to using the excitement and vision of space science and aerospace science to equip the citizens of Wisconsin with the math, science, and technology tools they need to thrive in the next century. In addition to undergraduate research fellowships and scholarships, its programs include reduced gravity research, graduate fellowships, internships and partnerships with aerospace companies, and special initiatives for teachers and educational organizations.

(From left) Nicholas Bartel, Celestine Ananda, and Austin Weber

Background Image of Earth